Has the term 'Vegan' always included not using animal products that you don't eat?!

Question: Has the term 'Vegan' always included not using animal products that you don't eat?
I am loathe to ask a vegetarian question as it seems to cause bad feeling but this isn't about Meat Eaters versus Vegetarians or Vegans. I simply need a definition cleared up. I was always under the impression that being Vegan just referred to not eating dairy & eggs as well a meat. I went to a Seventh Day Adventist health farm & the leader of the program told me that. He may just have left out using animal products like fur, hide etc. Think hard before answering this. The word Vegan, seems to have become the accepted term covering eating AND use of animal products. Was it always that way? It will be interesting to hear from very long term Vegans on this point or maybe you can ask a Vegan who's been one for 20 or 30 years. Is there a term for meat eaters who don't believe in killing animals for their fur etc. Thanks. I like to get my information right.


The founder of the Vegan society was an English man called Donald Watson. He said that "as far as possible, humans should avoid the exploitation on animals for food or clothing".

SO, yes. HE used the beginning and end of the word vegetarian to make the word vegan.
He grew up on a farm, used to seeing animals killed and used for their products, but as far as he could tell (sic) he didn't see anything the humans were giving to the animals, only that we took from the animals.

A pescetarian is someone who eats fish.

THey eat eggs and milk if they want. They eat meat- just limit it to fish . It's not a vegetarian.

My understanding is that vegetarian meant not eating meat, or animal products. Now it means not anything with a face, so you have ovo-lactos, who do eat eggs and milk, etc. Pesci, who eat fish too...

My understanding is also that Vegan means, and always has, meant not using animal products, including wearing leather, or even eating honey (as it is made by exploting bees).

Yeah veganism is certainly more of a lifestyle choice than just choosing not to eat animal products. I think a vegetarian who abstains from dairy and eggs but still uses animal products in other ways is a "pure vegetarian".

Vegetarian- They don't eat meat but still eat dairy products.
Vegan- They don't eat dairy products and meat.

Both are anti-fur, some vegetarians still use bees wax. Vegans are more strict with animal products. :)

Hope I helped.

Sheila is right-vegans by definition don't use any product that exploits animals.

Donald Watson coined the word 'vegan', and he defined it thus:

"..the word "veganism" denotes a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude - as far as is possible and practical - all forms of exploitation of and cruelty to animals for food, clothing or any other purpose; and by extension, promotes the development and use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of humans, animals and the environment."

EDIT* 'Who's Donald Watson?' He's the person who invented the word vegan - I don't know what else to tell you.

Here: http://www.foodsforlife.org.uk/people/Do…

As (lo_mcg) mentions, the word was invented by Donald Watson. It is a relatively new word, coming out of the 1940s, and it always had an animal rights connotation. Before that, the word 'vegetarian' generally meant the consumption of animal products, but it wasn't entirely clear cut. Sometimes the 'strict vegetarian' was used as a term that excluded all animal products in diet. Technically, if we stay true to the origin of the word a vegan also does their best to avoid animal exploitation outside of the diet, that doesn't mean people always use the word how it was originally intended.

I have always been of the impression that 'vegan' means not eating or using anything that an animal has produced. The exploitation of animals is the major platform for vegans, and a vegan diet is the spin-off from that.

Edit: Pescatarians follow a vegetarian diet (either pure veg, lacto-veg, ovo-veg, lacto/ovo-veg) in all regards except they eat fish, so cannot be classified as vegetarian (as fish is a form of meat).

Vegetarian for 32 years, not a vegan as I eat honey, goats cheese and an occasional free range egg, and have a few woolly jumpers from the op-shop.

The consumer Foods information on foodaq.com is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for medical advice or treatment for any medical conditions.
The answer content post by the user, if contains the copyright content please contact us, we will immediately remove it.
Copyright © 2007 FoodAQ - Terms of Use - Contact us - Privacy Policy

Food's Q&A Resources