Why does chocolate need to have rennet in it?!


Question: i am a vegetarian


Answers: i am a vegetarian

Rennet (pronounced /?r?n?t/) is a natural complex of enzymes produced in any mammalian stomach to digest the mother's milk. Rennet contains a proteolytic enzyme (protease) that coagulates the milk, causing it to separate into solids (curds) and liquid (whey). The active enzyme in rennet is called rennin or chymosin (EC 3.4.23.4) but there are also other important enzymes in it, e.g., pepsin or lipase. There are non-animal sources for rennet substitutes.

Uses
The chief use of rennet is in the making of cheese, curd, and junket. Chymosin reacts specifically with κ-casein, cleaving the protein between the amino acids phenylalanine(105) and methionine (106), producing two fragments. The soluble fragment (residues 106-169), which becomes part of the whey, is known as glyco macro peptide and contains the glycosylation sites for κ-casein. The other component (residues 1-105) is insoluble, and in the presence of calcium ions causes the coagulation of the casein micelles to form a curd.

Mars starts using animal products

Masterfoods' brands are household names
Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.
Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.

Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a "principled decision" on its part.

The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was "incomprehensible".

'Extremely disappointed'

Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October.

Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step

Vegetarian Society

Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey.

It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars.

"If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate," said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods.

The Vegetarian Society said it was "extremely disappointed".

"At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step," it said in a statement.

"Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves," it added.


Rennet is an ingredient in cheese. It wouldn't be in chocolate.

what is the source of your information..?
that sounds like a fools slur..
It does not and any vegetarian should know that..


Chocolate does not contain rennet. Cheese contains rennet, but don't discard cheese just because you are vegetarian. Many cheeses are made with vegetable rennet.

CHOCOLATE NOT RECOMMENDED!

Chocolate usually doesn't have rennet.

For a while, some chocolate manufacturers in the UK were planning to include rennet in their bars, but they backed down and changed their mind.
(See here
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6653...

The only animal products chocolate usually has are dairy derivatives. Rennet is only very rarely used instead of whey (a dairy product), in chocolates.


Chocolate does not need to have rennet in it. In fact real chocolate contains no animals in it at all. Some companies just put milk and other products for taste or creaminess.

The rennet in cheese is suppose to help it melt better. (chocolate can melt without rennet, actually it melts better).

Real chocolate actually is real good for you.


I have never encountered chocolate with rennet in. But eating milk chocolate is the same as eating rennet... the calf is still killed.

We occasionally make chocolate from our own cacao trees/beans and we never use rennet..

Pure chocolate is not processed using rennet so you may be referring to some products added to chocolate candy that may contain rennet or processed using rennet






The consumer Foods information on foodaq.com is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for medical advice or treatment for any medical conditions.
The answer content post by the user, if contains the copyright content please contact us, we will immediately remove it.
Copyright © 2007 FoodAQ - Terms of Use - Contact us - Privacy Policy

privacy policy